Wednesday, 10 November 2010

Waiting on Wednesday: Exposed - Kimberly Marcus

Waiting on Wednesday was started by Jill over at Breaking the Spine and is a post detailing an upcoming book you can't wait to read.

This week I've chosen ‘Exposed’ by Kimberly Marcus. It’s a 2011 debut (bonus points) and I’m literally counting down the days. I love verse novels and I really don’t think there are enough of them out there. Plus, anything that’s meant to appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins and Laurie Halse Anderson is definitely something you can count me in for. I would really, really like this one to be released NOW, please?

Publication date: February 22nd, 2011

Published by: Random House Books for Young Readers

Summary (from Goodreads): In the dim light of the darkroom, I'm alone, but not for long.
As white turns to gray,
Kate is with me.

The background of the dance studio blurred,
so the focus is all on her
legs extended in a perfect soaring split.
The straight line to my squiggle,

my forever-best friend.


Sixteen-year-old Liz Grayson is photogirl—sharp, focused and ready to take the world by storm with her camera. But Liz's entire life is called into question when her brother is accused of a crime—and the accuser is Liz's own best friend.
As the aftershocks from that accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself, shifts out of focus.

And for the first time in her life, Liz finds herself unable to trust her own point of view. Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse, Exposed is Kimberly Marcus's gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.


So what about you guys? What are your picks for this week?

2 comments:

  1. Ooh, I'm also dying to read this one. I think there's quite a number of fabulous YA novels coming out with budding female photographer protagonists - and this is definitely one that I've got my eye on.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hello fellow blogger! new follower to your page here. Just wanted to drop some *love* and say that you have a wonderful blog here! I'm new to blogging and would love if you could return the favor and follow my page! Happy Blogging!

    pruesbookblog.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete

Thank you kindly for the comment, you sweet thing.