Thursday, 30 January 2014

RHCP Bloggers' Brunch Jan 2014

One of my favourite events in the blogging calendar has always been the January Random Hose Bloggers' Brunch, so I was super excited for this year's event!

The theme was movies, so we were greeted with popcorn and pick 'n' mix in gorgeous mini popcorn boxes, which was such a lovely touch! We were given a presentation on the books Random House are releasing in the first half of 2014 and, trust me, we're all in for a huge treat. There are too many to cover in a single post,so I wanted to run you guys through a few of my top picks:

Bird - Crystal Chan


Billed as one for fans of Wonder and John Boyne, Bird is a debut novel that I'm seriously excited for. I'm only a few chapters through at the moment but it's seriously gorgeous and the synopsis reminded me a little of a YA version of Toni Morrison's Beloved. Well, certain elements of it, at least!

The Forbidden Library - Django Wexler


Seriously, is Django Wexler not the most insanely smooth name you've ever heard? And it's not a pen name. It's just a legitimately awesome name.

Anyway, I digress.

You know I'm not the hugest fan of fantasy but when I hear comparisons to Narnia and the Never-Ending Story I'm pretty much good to go.

Heart Break Girl - Malorie Blackman


I was a huge fan of Boys Don't Cry so I can't wait to read this one, which is the companion novel, told from Mel's point of view.

Web of Darkness - Bali Rai

(No cover reveal yet - but we got to see it at the event and it's spooky!)

A dark YA novel about online stalking? YES PLEASE. Bali Rai is always a reliable author so I'm sure this will be a good'un.

There are some other brilliant ones coming up (look out for The Tin Snail, The Fearless and Echo Boy) but these are the four I'm most excited about!

We got the chance to hear from Matt Haig and listen to him read from his upcoming YA novel, Echo Boy, which was a great experience. Huge thanks to Matt, who was very patient and signed all of our books for us.

I had a brilliant day getting to see some of my favourite bloggers and catch up with all of the lovely Random House ladies so a huge thanks to RHCP for putting on another brilliant event and sending us away with bulging goody bags, full of some excellent-sounding books!

1 comment:

  1. Fab write up Carly - The Forbidden Library and Bird sound brilliant! :)

    ReplyDelete

Thank you kindly for the comment, you sweet thing.