Wednesday, 7 May 2014

Love, Lies and Lemon Pies - Katy Cannon

Hello all! I'm here today with my post as part of the blog tour for Katy Cannon's Love, Lies and Lemon Pies, which was released on May 5th 2014 by Stripes Publishing.

Love, Lies and Lemon Pies has a baking theme running through it (as you might be able to tell from the title), so I baked my favourite recipe from the book to celebrate! My asparagus quiche turned out sooo well so stay tuned for some photos and baking chat at the end of this post.

Summary (from Goodreads): Love, Lies and Lemon Pies, the debut YA novel from Katy Cannon, is the perfect summer read for fans of Sarah Dessen and Louise Rennison. With a Bake Club recipe at the start of each chapter, this book perfectly captures the current appetite for all things baking! 

Lottie, our narrator, captures the experience of a young teenage girl navigating the world of school cliques, difficult teachers and new romance, creating a world that young readers are sure to recognize. Since her dad died, life hasn't been the same for Lottie - it was easier to push her friends away than cope with their awkwardness. But when the school suggest she joins Bake Club to get her back on track, Lottie reluctantly agrees. But Lottie's uncertainty about Bake Club melts away as she rekindles her love of baking and gets caught up with Mac, the school rebel and another unwilling Bake Club member. 

Both Lottie and Mac have secrets to keep, and as Bake Club progresses towards an end-of-year competition, the tension rises between the Bake Club members. Can Lottie keep up the facade of her perfect life without the others finding out what's really going on at home? Can Mac keep his demanding, heavy-handed father off his back - not to mention the school counsellor who's written him off as a no-hoper? And can their bubbling romance survive the pressure?

Love, Lies and Lemon Pies is such a fun read that had me smiling the whole way through. The Louise Rennison comparison is definitely valid and I thought of the Georgia Nicholson books a few times while I was reading.

The addition of the recipes at the beginning of each chapter was really lovely and I'm keen to try out a few more of the recipes now I've seen how well my first attempt went!

As I mentioned before, I decided to make the asparagus quiche recipe from the book, and here's how it turned out:


It tasted amazing, and even better with a dollop of Greek yoghurt on the side! I topped the quiche with Red Leicester cheese and added a teaspoon of mustard into the roux, which was a genius addition, if I do say so myself!

Now, if you fancy more book-related baking delights make sure you check out the other stops on the blog tour:

 

1 comment:

  1. Wow, reviews AND recipes? Awesome! I loved the recipes as I thought there was a nice touch, but don't trust myself to actually try any of them... I'd probably somehow burn my flat down. (This comment is totally a criticism of my cooking, not Katy's recipe-writing, I should add...)

    ReplyDelete

Thank you kindly for the comment, you sweet thing.